My Ultimate European Sports Excursion

16 Jul

Golfers are making their way around the links at St. Andrews. Cyclists are making their way up a French mountain road. I am flipping the channels between the Open Championship and the Tour de France. These are two of my favorite sporting events.

The Open because it is played on different types of courses than the tournaments in the United States.

The Tour de France because it amazes me that people can ride bikes for that long and for that far. I have been following the race since Greg LeMond won it in the 1980s.

Watching these events also brings to mind my dream European sporting adventure. It can be accomplished in a matter of days and includes some of the world’s biggest events. If you plan it right, then you can spend some time at Wimbledon; stand along the road for a stage of the Tour; and walk the ropes at the Open.Europe

If you are really adventurous, then you can head over to Pamplona and run with the bulls. I would rather stand on a balcony and watch the running of the bulls.

In America, we tend to think that all of the big sporting events happen here. However, July puts Europe at the center of the sports world. Imagine the Super Bowl, the Masters and the World Series all happening within a few days of each other. That is what is happening in Europe.

One of these days, I am going on the Ultimate European Sports Excursion. I wonder if a travel agency has a package for this. Surely, I am not the first person to think of it.

 

6 Responses to “My Ultimate European Sports Excursion”

  1. thehistorytourist July 16, 2015 at 16:14 #

    I’m glued to the Tour de France, amazed by guys who can pedal up straight up the Pyrenees faster than I could ever go downhill.

    • Rick July 16, 2015 at 17:01 #

      That’s why I watch. I can’t figure out how they do it.

  2. frontrangescribbles July 17, 2015 at 01:19 #

    Nope you aren’t. I’ve thought of it also. Sign me up

    • Rick July 17, 2015 at 01:42 #

      I’m glad to know somebody else likes this plan.

  3. jcalberta July 17, 2015 at 14:30 #

    Take a care if you’re seated with the soccer hooligans. I wouldn’t stand in any bar and raise a toast to Lance Armstrong either.

    • Rick July 17, 2015 at 14:38 #

      I’ll stay away from the crazy folks.

Leave a Reply

