A Name Change

24 Jun

As many of you know, my wife suggested that I change the name of this blog. A few posts ago, I asked for suggestions, and I received a bunch of good suggestions. Some people sent over new names, and others said that I should not change a thing. I have a brand, and that brand is Surrounded By Imbeciles.

After days of contemplation, I have decided, like a good politician, to ride the fence. The blog name will change, but a bit of its heritage will remain.

Surrounded By Imbeciles will be shortened to SBI. New readers may not know what that means, but the old timers will be in the know. (Of course, the blog’s web address will give it away. It is hard to completely change the name when it is right there in that top bar.)

SBI will be followed by A Thinning Crowd. This represents the fact that I am no longer surrounded by imbeciles. Obviously, there are still imbeciles in the world, and I still encounter them. However, I am surrounded by a bunch of good people, and the imbeciles are “a thinning crowd.”Bleachers

For the foreseeable future, this blog will be known as SBI: A Thinning Crowd. However, I reserve the right to change it at any time. If I sense more imbeciles on the horizon, then the crowd is no longer thinning.

 

10 Responses to “A Name Change”

  1. Marilyn Armstrong June 24, 2015 at 02:16 #

    Charmingly inscrutable. I’m glad to hear that there are fewer imbeciles in your world. I think they may have moved to my neighborhood.

    • Rick June 24, 2015 at 02:23 #

      They must migrate.

      • Marilyn Armstrong June 24, 2015 at 02:53 #

        I hope they continue their migration. Please!

  2. frontrangescribbles June 24, 2015 at 03:50 #

    They sure have not thinned out in my world.

    • Rick June 24, 2015 at 03:54 #

      They are out there. It’s just balancing out around here.

  3. jcalberta June 24, 2015 at 03:57 #

    nice … i can understand how your original … originated.
    i can also understand why you would need to change it. that demonstrates integrity.
    looking forward …

    • Rick June 24, 2015 at 13:12 #

      Thank you

  4. John S June 30, 2015 at 22:30 #

    I always thought the blog name was a bit harsh on your students, even if that wasn’t what you meant.

    • Rick June 30, 2015 at 23:05 #

      It really wasn’t about the students. It was more about the crazy things that go on in the world.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Natural High | SBI: A Thinning Crowd - July 1, 2015

    […] A Name Change – the announcement of a new name for the blog […]

Leave a Reply

