It Happened at the Inaugural Ball

21 Apr

In 1986, Ned Ray McWherter was elected governor of Tennessee. That probably did not mean much to most of the state’s high school students, but it turned out to be a big deal for me.

My best friend’s family was good friends with Ned Ray, and he worked in hard on the campaign trail. When victory was obtained, my friend was ecstatic. He was also fired up because he was invited to the Inaugural Ball. In fact, I heard over and over and over about how he was going to the gala.

On top of that, he kept talking about the hot girl that he was taking. It is all I heard.

“I am going to the ball, and I am taking this hot girl.”

I was getting sick of it and could not handle it. One day, I told my dad how tired I was of hearing my friend brag about this big date to this big event.

A few days later, my dad came home with a surprise – two tickets to the Inaugural Ball. He told me to get a date and go. However, I could not tell my friend. My dad wanted me to show up at the celebration and surprise him.

I handled the plan perfectly. I got a date. We got dressed up and went to the ball. It was held in a bunch of ballrooms at the Opryland Hotel, which meant that we would have to search.Opryland Hotel

Finally, we saw my friend across one of the big rooms.

As we walked up, my friend was in a state of shock. He could not believe that I was there. After all of the bragging, we were in the same room and him and his date. However, I must admit that he was right about one thing. His date was hot.

That is one reason why I married her.

10 Responses to “It Happened at the Inaugural Ball”

  1. Mark R. Cheathem April 21, 2015 at 02:20 #

    *mic drop*

    • Rick April 21, 2015 at 02:43 #

      That’s kind of what I did when I told that story at his roast.

  2. Marilyn Armstrong April 21, 2015 at 02:26 #

    I guess that’s a perfect example of he who laughs last, laughs best.

    • Rick April 21, 2015 at 02:43 #

      I definitely won the long game.

  3. Bantering Ram April 21, 2015 at 05:50 #

    Aha!

    • Rick April 21, 2015 at 12:11 #

      The big reveal.

  4. Necole Bell April 26, 2015 at 01:49 #

    Not sure “Hot” is how I would describe our first encounter. Lol. Looking back on the 1980’s hair and my Velvet dress w a one shoulder bow twice the size of my head that was Hot Pink and made of something like Aluminum Foil! Oh I wish I could find a picture. However your sweet friendship and loving eyes made me love you. I’m forever grateful that somehow after more than 25 years we reconnected and now will spend our best years loving each other, growing old and holding hands. I’m so lucky, blessed and as one wise old lady said before “I’VE HIT THE JACKPOT!” I love You Rick Bell.

    • Rick April 26, 2015 at 02:36 #

      Hey, the hot girl commented on my blog. I will always be grateful that you agreed to go with him to the ball. You were beautiful that night and are more beautiful every time I see you. I love you.

      • Marilyn Armstrong April 26, 2015 at 03:21 #

        Hey, my guy and I kept missing each other for more than 30 years, but we’ve been married now for 25 and it is the best thing in our lives. I am grateful every day and you guys can be do. It’s a wonderful and rare thing to find love that lasts. So few people have it.

Leave a Reply

