My iPod Has Issues – We Are The Trivia Champions

27 Feb

Today, the History Club played Trivial Pursuit. It was students against teachers with the students having about ten people and we teachers only having three. In other words, the students were at a severe disadvantage.Trivia

The students streaked out to an early lead, but, by the end, we had pulled ahead and barely won. Some of the students were crushed. Some did not care. I think I can speak for each of the teachers by saying that we were relieved. A loss would have never been lived down.

To celebrate our victory, I decided to dig into the iPod and let it play. After all, it is party time for the history faculty. We were able to pull victory from the jaws of defeat.

“Wild Horses” by The Rolling Stones

“Groove’s Groove” by Richard “Groove” Holmes

“Who’s To Bless And Who’s To Blame” by Kris Kristofferson

“Stranglehold” by Ted Nugent

“Les Flammes D’en Fer” by The Jambalaya Cajun Band

“Ode To Billie Joe” by Bobbie Gentry

“Breaking The Law” by Judas Priest

“Sunday Bloody Sunday” by U2

“Bat Out Of Hell” by Meat Loaf

“In The Air Tonight” by Nonpoint

“Truck Drivin’ Man” by Jimmy Martin

“Let It Be” by The Beatles

“Surrender” by Cheap Trick

“Orange Blossom Special” by Benny Martin

“Here Comes The Sun” by Richie Havens

“An Old Fashioned Love Song” by Three Dog Night

“I Sang Dixie” by Dwight Yoakam

“You Really Got Me” by The Kinks

“I Never Loved A Man” by Aretha Franklin

“All Along The Watchtower” by Jimi Hendrix

A victory in Trivial Pursuit? That must mean that the teacher team is the GOAT!

7 Responses to “My iPod Has Issues – We Are The Trivia Champions”

  1. Andrew Petcher February 27, 2015 at 05:57 #

    I used to like TP. I remember winning a shield for being on a winning team at work. I always remember the winning question/answer. Who was the Man For All Seasons. That was really easy for me and I was the hero of the hour.

    • Rick February 27, 2015 at 14:48 #

      There is nothing like going for the win and getting a question that you automatically know the answer to.

  2. Bantering Ram February 27, 2015 at 13:11 #

    Party indeed 🙂 Congratulations!

    • Rick February 27, 2015 at 14:49 #

      Thanks. It was a hard fought victory.

  3. Marilyn Armstrong February 27, 2015 at 16:42 #

    Thank you for NOT including “The Horse With No Name.” Everything else is good.

    I humbly admit that Garry and I together are virtually unbeatable at Trivial Pursuit. He has sports and entertainment solid. I have literature, general science, board and card games. Both of us have history, though he has a tendency to argue with the accuracy of their answers, especially in recent history when he was actually there, covering the story. Actually, I have more than a few quibbles of my own. I’m glad the teachers won. You’re right. You’d never live down a loss.

    • Rick February 27, 2015 at 16:45 #

      There was one answer that I had an issue with. We answered the way it was written on the card, but it still wasn’t accurate.

      In the past, some of the teachers have played trivia in the local drinking establishments. Get someone from History; from Literature; from Science and you can wipe the floor with the other teams.

      • Marilyn Armstrong February 27, 2015 at 16:47 #

        Don’t we all play trivia? Sans board and those little widgety plastic thingies. Garry and his pals do it with sports and movies. I tend toward more literary stuff, but you can always sucker me into history or music.

Leave a Reply

