My iPod Has Issues – I’ve Seen Fire, and I’ve Seen Television

3 Feb

I am sitting by the fire and watching Top Gear. This show always brings out my inner race car driver. My wife is on the couch wondering why we are watching Top Gear. Apparently, it does not bring out her inner race car driver.

Earlier, we watched Bluegrass Underground. A few counties over someone has turned a cave into a concert hall, and some of the concerts are put on television. Tonight’s episode introduced us to a group called Davina and the Vagabonds. I thought they were pretty cool.Davina

The episode also brought out our inner musicians. Both of us wished we were outer musicians instead.

Before all of that, I put on my headphones, listened to the iPod and made out a test. In honor of Top Gear, Bluegrass Underground, my inner race car driver and our inner musicians, here are a few selections from the iPod that I had plugged into my headphones.

“Time of the Season” by The Zombies

“Without You” by Harry Nilsson

“Ballad of Davy Crockett” by Fess Parker

“I’m Gonna Catch You” by Hues Corporation

“De Guello” by Nelson Riddle

“Blue Suede Shoes” by Carl Perkins

“Try A Little Tenderness” by Otis Redding

“When A Guitar Plays The Blues” by Roy Buchanan

“If Anyone Falls” by Stevie Nicks

“A Change Is Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke

“Earth Angel” by The Penguins

“Electric Worry” by Clutch

“That’s My Man” by Marion James

“Sunshine” by Jonathan Edwards

“Hurdy Gurdy Man” by Donovan

“31 E. Blues” by Billie McAllister

“My Elusive Dreams” by David Houston and Tammy Wynette

“What A Difference A Day Makes” by Dinah Washington

“Clocks” by Coldplay

“I Want To” by Joe Tex

Now, I return to the regularly scheduled program.

10 Responses to “My iPod Has Issues – I’ve Seen Fire, and I’ve Seen Television”

  1. Marilyn Armstrong February 3, 2015 at 03:52 #

    Ballad of Davy Crockett? They just showed the series as a movie on TCM. Apparently TCM and Disney are engaged to be married. So that’s the second time in just a few weeks that song has come up. I still remember all the words to all the verses. And worse, it’s going round and round in my head. I need another tune, quick!

    • Rick February 3, 2015 at 04:17 #

      Yep. Ballad of Davy Crockett. You should get a coon skin hat.

      • Marilyn Armstrong February 3, 2015 at 04:42 #

        No coonskin hat. I resisted when I was 10, I will keep the pledge. No dead raccoon on my head.

      • jcalberta February 3, 2015 at 06:14 #

        Ever tried catching a musket ball in your teeth?
        It’s hard.

      • Rick February 3, 2015 at 13:46 #

        It takes tough teeth.

  2. DyingNote February 3, 2015 at 05:07 #

    Roy Buchanan. What a guitarist. But like many other exceptional musicians, hardly known. You’re unlikely to find him on the greatest, bestest lists.

    • Rick February 3, 2015 at 13:46 #

      There are a lot of unknown people who are probably better than most of the known people.

  3. Andrew Petcher February 3, 2015 at 08:01 #

    Is that the US or the UK Top Gear?

    • Rick February 3, 2015 at 13:47 #

      The UK version. The US version does not come close to comparing.

      • Andrew Petcher February 3, 2015 at 13:51 #

        It is getting tired but still worth watching!

Leave a Reply

