My iPod Has Issues – WordPress Has Joined the Crazy Club

9 Dec

This morning, I logged into WordPress and found that the format has been changed. Obviously, this is not the first time that changes have taken place, and each time I have to learn how to navigate the system to get where I want.

It an old-fashioned question, but why fix something that is not broken? Ever heard of New Coke?New Coke

Hold on. Scratch that. The classic system I signed up on was not broken. The changes since that time have gradually made the platform worse. With each change, I have figured out how to get back to the classic. One of these days, the classic dashboard is going to be deleted, and the blogging world will stop spinning.

Anyway, the folks at WordPress either need busy work to justify their continued employment, or they have joined the crazy club. My iPod is the only thing crazier than these constant changes. With that in mind, we will go completely off the wall and use this crazy blogging platform to explore my crazy iPod.

Hold on to your minds!

“The Reflex” by Duran Duran

“La Grange” by ZZ Top

“Highway 61 Revisited” by Bob Dylan

“Mack the Knife” by Bobby Darin

“Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head” by Dionne Warwick

“Baby Love” by The Supremes

“Rikki Don’t Lose That Number” by Steely Dan

“The Devil Made Me Do It” by Golden Earring

“In The Garden” by John Prine and Mac Wiseman

“Say You Really Care” by Roscoe Shelton

“Cool” by Lou Busch and His Orchestra

“Big Long Slidin’ Thing” by Dinah Washington

“Bad Businessman” by Squirrel Nut Zippers

“Funk #49” by James Gang

“Coelocanth” by Shriekback

“Luckenbach, Texas” by Waylon Jennings

“Bring It On Home To Me” by Sam Cooke

“Banditos” by The Refreshments

“Hallelujah” by Sweathog

“Escape of Jennie Wiley” by Hylo Brown

“Smoke On The Water” by Deep Purple

“Roane County Prison” by Bill Monroe

“Beau Geste” by Hadley J. Castille

“Everlasting Love” by Robert Knight

“Stagger Lee” by Lloyd Price

Our brief musical interlude is over. Now, WordPress. Fix yourself.

30 Responses to “My iPod Has Issues – WordPress Has Joined the Crazy Club”

  1. Marilyn Armstrong December 9, 2014 at 19:44 #

    WordPress seems intent on driving us away. I keep finding workaround for their “fixes.” But you’re right. One of these days, they will make it so I can’t find a workaround and I’ll give up. But I hope not for a while.

    • Rick December 9, 2014 at 19:46 #

      With every change, the workaround gets a little more difficult. I figured this one out, but I am worried about the next one.

      • Marilyn Armstrong December 9, 2014 at 19:49 #

        It’s hard to figure out what they are trying to accomplish. Doesn’t anyone in their development group actually TEST this stuff with users? Maybe some experienced users? Who do they think they are developing for? I worked in software development more than 30 years. These people are seriously out of touch with their customers.

  2. Andrew Petcher December 9, 2014 at 21:44 #

    WordPress just gets madder and madder. They introduce really terrible changes that removes functionality and then displays a message to say how much they have improved things. It is all about catering for the mobile and tablet customers at the expense of the desk toppers. As Marilyn points out they clearly don’t test this stuff before they launch it! Don’t try raising the issue in the Forums, they just stick to the ‘this is progress and improvement’ Company line. When the classic dashboard and statistics have gone I’m out of here! It’s a real shame.

    • Marilyn Armstrong December 9, 2014 at 21:51 #

      It’s really a pity because there was nothing wrong with the stuff they are “fixing.” Talk about stealing defeat from the jaws of victory.

    • Rick December 10, 2014 at 02:42 #

      I have no idea how people blog on a mobile device. I have to have a real keyboard to do real typing.

      • Marilyn Armstrong December 10, 2014 at 02:59 #

        Even better: consider trying to process a photograph on anything smaller than 13″ (and even that is too small for some kinds of editing). You can’t edit graphics on a mini device. It’s actually impossible.

      • Andrew Petcher December 10, 2014 at 05:39 #

        I have tried it – it is impossible. I think that is the issue, WordPress is trying to develop and prioritise for people who want to use it like Facebook to post a picture and maybe a line or two of text. It is such a shame!

  3. jcalberta December 9, 2014 at 22:11 #

    “Rikki Don’t Lose That Number” by Steely Dan – one very sweet guitar solo in that song. But complaining to WordPress is like “Smoke on the Water”.
    Gone with the wind.

    • Rick December 10, 2014 at 02:43 #

      Rikki is an awesome song. I should have made a theme of songs of futility.

  4. NotAPunkRocker December 9, 2014 at 22:25 #

    Your ipod sounds like mine. I will leave that for you to decide if that is a good thing or not.

    • Rick December 10, 2014 at 02:43 #

      I believe that is a good thing.

  5. John S December 10, 2014 at 01:13 #

    I know what you mean. Just today I looked for me stats and realised I had to click in my sites first. Brief annoyance. Then, in fairness, there was a richer variety of statistical analysis. I think we all get used to the functionality we start with – I still use the classic for writing my blogs even though there is now an allegedly better format – and I imagine WordPress is genuinely trying to make the system better. And we mustn’t ever forget we are getting this all (apart from premium stuff) for free. WordPress is actually brilliant if you just step back and think about it.

    • John S December 10, 2014 at 01:17 #

      There’s a couple of typos in that first sentence. Me should be my and in should be on!

    • Rick December 10, 2014 at 02:44 #

      You are right about it being free. That’s tough to complain about. However, I still use the classic platform.

  6. DyingNote December 10, 2014 at 03:48 #

    Their focus seems to be on change rather than on improvement. Some of these changes are irritating and poorly thought out. It’s ridiculous that you have to go through more clicks to access areas now. But I agree with John that the Stats page is better – personally I still have a gripe with them that they block out Google Analytics.

    • Marilyn Armstrong December 10, 2014 at 04:04 #

      I have to ask: how is it better? There’s far less information and you can only get gross numbers for anything but a week of statistics. You can’t get individual analysis of individual posts, or data and international hits. So … what’s better?

      • DyingNote December 10, 2014 at 04:49 #

        I find the new stats layout better – don’t have to hover over the bars to get info. And Marilyn, I said better, not richer 🙂 I have never liked the scantiness of info they provide and like I said, I would like it if they didn’t block out Google Analytics.

      • Marilyn Armstrong December 10, 2014 at 04:54 #

        Okay. There are nice features to the new format, but it’s all bells and whistles without substance. Yeah, prettier. But, as my husband always says, “pretty is as pretty does.” He worked in a “pretty people” business, so he has never been impressed by flash and dash. I worked in software designs for more than 30 years, and I’m not impressed by a GUI without legs. Which is what this is. NOW. If they could use the same GUI, but use it to provide more depth, more data … THAT would be worth having. It doesn’t need to be a trade-off. Good software design CAN do both. Been there. Really done that.

      • DyingNote December 10, 2014 at 05:01 #

        Marilyn, I agree and I have on more than one occasion raised this problem of poor stat measures with WP without getting a satisfactory answer. Maybe they don’t want to store data in detail for a free service but it beats why they wouldn’t allow a third party in when it doesn’t cost them.

      • Marilyn Armstrong December 10, 2014 at 05:17 #

        I’m actually a paying customer. I do not get one thing more than I got when I didn’t pay.

        I can understand them not wanting to store so much data, but the/y generate it anyway, so why not let us download it for a limited time, THEN dump it. Short-sighted management + poor software design.

    • Rick December 10, 2014 at 04:38 #

      I like knowing more about the stats. I just wish they would leave the New Post page alone.

  7. Lunar Euphoria December 10, 2014 at 15:02 #

    I’m with you – keep it simple and don’t mess with my New Post page!

    I also can’t imagine typing a post on my tablet, even though I’m using it now to post this comment. The mobile version of WordPress definitely has improved.

    • Rick December 10, 2014 at 15:27 #

      I comment from my iPhone a lot, but detailed writing has to be done from something else. Call me old fashioned.

  8. 4519 December 13, 2014 at 16:50 #

    Reblogged this on Media Gridiron.

  9. Carl D'Agostino December 14, 2014 at 17:56 #

    Just when everything gets comfortable you get another surprise.

    • Rick December 14, 2014 at 18:58 #

      It happens every time.

  10. returntothe80s January 10, 2015 at 23:22 #

    I agree with you. These changes are driving me crazy. I prefer to write my posts on a desktop/laptop computer – not on my phone!
    Great choice of songs, by the way!

    • Rick January 11, 2015 at 00:46 #

      Thanks. It’s impossible for me to blog on my phone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DISIMPROVEMENT 101 | SERENDIPITY - December 10, 2014

    […] And also My iPod Has Issues – WordPress Has Joined the Crazy Club. […]

Leave a Reply

