My Concert Addiction

5 Dec

Man, I cannot believe that I have gone this long without posting something. I blame it one real life. Christmas lights have to be put up. Chores have to be done. The semester is coming to an end.

Today was the last day of classes. Of course, final exams are on the horizon, but the daily grind has come to a close. For me, it is a good feeling because I have completed the task of educating students. However, it is also sad because that particular collection of people will never be together again. Taking part in a class, whether as a teach or student, is almost a communal experience. Once that community breaks apart, it will never return.

This semester, my favorite class was History of American Music. In other terms, it was the School of Rock. As the class came to a close, I realized that a lot of my personal experiences were shared. Whenever I talked about a band or played a song, there was a concert story that went along with it.

I am a concert fiend. My parents took means my brother to my first concert. It was Elvis Presley. They also made me go to the second one, Kenny Rogers. My first concert as an “independent” teen was Whitesnake and Great White with my friend Robert. There have been a bunch since then. Some are memorable, and some have slipped to the back of my mind. After class, I started wondering about the artists who are on my iPod. How many of them have I seen perform live?Concert

To jog my memory, I decided to go through the list and figure it out. These are the people in my iPod who I have seen in concert.

AC/DC

Aerosmith

Air Supply

Al Green

Alice Cooper

The B-52’s

B.B. King

B.J. Thomas

Black Sabbath

Blue Man Group

Bo Diddley

Bob Dylan

Bob Seger

Boz Scaggs

BR5-49

The Brian Setzer Orchestra

Bruce Springsteen

Buddy Guy

Charlie Daniels

Cher

Chicago

Crosby, Stills and Nash

Dave Brubeck

David Allan Coe

Del Shannon

The Dillards

Dionne Warwick

Dokken

Don Henley

Don Williams

Drive-By Truckers

Duran Duran

The Eagles

Earth, Wind and Fire

Elton John

Elvis Presley

Eric Clapton

The Everly Brothers

The Fairfield Four

Fleetwood Mac

George Carlin

George Jones

George Clinton

George Strait

Gipsy Kings

Glen Campbell

Godsmack

Gordon Lightfoot

Guns N’ Roses

Hank Williams, Jr.

James Taylor

Jimmy Buffett

Joe Jackson

Joe Walsh

John Fogerty

John Mellencamp

Judas Priest

Kate Campbell

Kenny Chesney

Kenny Rogers

KISS

Kris Kristofferson

Leonard Cohen

Little River Band

Little Jimmy Dickens

Lynyrd Skynyrd

The Marshall Tucker Band

Meat Loaf

Merle Haggard

Metallica

Mormon Tabernacle Choir

Neil Diamond

Ozzy Osbourne

Pat Green

Pink Floyd

Porter Wagoner

Prince

Ray Price

Rob Zombie

Roberta Flack

Rod Stewart

The Rolling Stones

Ron White

Simon and Garfunkel

Skid Row

Stacey Mitchhart

Stevie Nicks

Ted Nugent

Tim McGraw

Tom Petty

U2

Vintage Trouble

Whitesnake

The Who

Will Hoge

Willie Nelson

ZZ Top

Wow, I think I am addicted. If so, then I am a lucky addict.

 

 

 

 

13 Responses to “My Concert Addiction”

  1. Marilyn Armstrong December 5, 2014 at 05:08 #

    There are lots worse addictions. Lots. Most. Stay addicted. We are all music lovers disguised as other professionals 🙂

    • Rick December 5, 2014 at 05:10 #

      I can’t stop the addiction. As long as they continue having concerts, I will buy a ticket and listen to the music.

  2. Ellen James December 5, 2014 at 15:09 #

    I’ve always loved Earth, Wind, and Fire and would love to see them in concert! Great piece, Rick. I bet your class is both interesting and fun.

    • Rick December 5, 2014 at 15:14 #

      Thank you. They put on a great show. The weird part was they opened up for Chicago.

  3. DyingNote December 6, 2014 at 02:13 #

    That’s good addiction, Rick. Stick with it.

    • Rick December 6, 2014 at 03:45 #

      I think I will.

  4. jcalberta December 6, 2014 at 05:28 #

    Wow ! that’s a lot of concerts.
    i don’t have that addiction – I’ve gone to a only a few over the years. For me, I don’t really enjoy the atmosphere of most concerts and often the music doesn’t measure up to the recorded versions. There can be other discomforts as well – not to mention the cost. I’m very satisfied with my music collection though and I’m hard put to find music from TODAY that I like. However, it was our great fortune to live in a Renaissance era and much of what we have today seems to pale. I know there’s good stuff being done, but I have a hard time finding it.

    • Rick December 6, 2014 at 14:34 #

      I like listening to the recorded versions, too. However, there is something about a concert that I like. It’s almost like a sporting event. There is an excitement in the crowd. There is the anticipation. Of course, there is the music.

  5. Phil Taylor December 6, 2014 at 21:10 #

    I’m with you. I love live concerts. My first was The Who in 1982. I’ve got a good resume since then but not as extensive as yours. Despite the length of of your list I’ve only got 4 in common with you.

    • Rick December 7, 2014 at 00:22 #

      The amazing thing is that I have been disappointed only a few times. Even when someone makes a mistake onstage, there is something about hearing the real thing.

      Thanks for commenting.

  6. Cassie Seal December 9, 2014 at 17:40 #

    I can think of a few you missed.

    • Rick December 9, 2014 at 18:30 #

      I realize the list is nowhere near exhaustive, but my iPod has a limited amount of space. Can’t put everyone I have seen on there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Night They Demanded “Runaway” | Surrounded By Imbeciles - December 8, 2014

    […] other day, I wrote a post about concerts, and it brought to mind a show that has, for the lack of a better word, haunted me. I reckon an […]

Leave a Reply

