Things I Do Not Understand

26 Nov

The world is full of mysteries. There are things about our home planet that we do not understand and may never will. Sometimes, I think about these mysteries and wonder about the things that I do not understand. Some of them are serious. Some of them are absurd. Some of them can be found in the middle.Understand

Tonight, I do not understand why:

airplanes stay in the sky.

some foods are only prepared during the holidays.

people wonder which came first – the chicken or the egg.

Bigfoot has never been found.

men hit women.

people think they have to choose between science and religion.

silent movies look like that are going in fast forward.

we have to fall back and spring ahead.

people need alcohol to relax or have a good time.

I am addicted to my iPhone.

many people find history boring.

Led Zeppelin will not reunite.

people choose not to vote.

fast food restaurants do not live up to their name.

we buy water in bottles when we already pay for it to come through the tap.

There you have it. On this night, those are the things I do not understand.

 

13 Responses to “Things I Do Not Understand”

  1. Marilyn Armstrong November 26, 2014 at 02:24 #

    I actually know a few of those answers, but I have plenty of my OWN questions. Some things, even when I know the answer, I still don’t understand … like how people can be cruel to children and animals. And why everyone doesn’t think medieval history is hot stuff!

    • Rick November 26, 2014 at 02:28 #

      Sometimes, the answers make the questions more puzzling.

  2. frontrangescribbles November 26, 2014 at 03:43 #

    I wonder many of the same things. Also why do we park in a driveway and drive on a parkway?

    • Rick November 26, 2014 at 04:28 #

      Excellent question

  3. satanicpanic November 26, 2014 at 06:10 #

    I am with you on a lot of these, but bottled water in particular. I mean, half of them say -from a municipal source… uh, so tap water?

    • Rick November 26, 2014 at 13:54 #

      Exactly. Do people actually think they are getting it from some mountain spring?

      • Marilyn Armstrong November 26, 2014 at 14:46 #

        Have you ever tasted municipal water in Phoenix? Or New York? It tastes like used swimming pool.

        We are used to well water here. Whatever other issues we have, taste isn’t one. A lot of cities have disgusting water, full of chemicals. I don’t get it for people who live in places where the water is fine right out of the tap.

      • Rick November 26, 2014 at 15:31 #

        Phoenix, yes. New York, no. I will give NYC people a pass on the bottled water situation.

  4. Ashley E. November 26, 2014 at 15:22 #

    I don’t understand why they separate science and religion either. God explains the why of it and science explains the science of God’s creations. But that’s just me.

    • Rick November 26, 2014 at 15:32 #

      I totally agree. God created a complicated world in a complicated universe. Therefore, I have to believe that it was created in a complicated way.

      Thank you for commenting.

  5. Zambian Lady December 14, 2014 at 20:03 #

    I wonder why some people think that it is wrong for a man to hit a woman but funny if a woman hits a man.

    • Rick December 15, 2014 at 01:10 #

      That is true. People shouldn’t be hit anyone. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

