Signs of Patriotism?

11 Jun

Political season has hit Wilson County, and the campaigns for local office are kicking into high gear. Yard signs are popping up like mushrooms. Being fascinated by local politics, seeing them grow in number signals that a fun Summer is ahead. However, I have noticed something about the signs. They all look the same.

Growing up, signs were all kinds of colors, and candidates wanted to make sure that their color stood out. If you saw a certain color, then you knew which candidate that was without looking at the name. This time, the majority of candidates have signs that are red, white and blue. Honestly, I have to get up close to tell which ones are which. That is coming from someone who looks at the signs. What about the people who just glance at them? Do they know which candidate is being represented?

The other night, I was talking to a candidate who has signs of a different color and said that I liked that they are different. The candidate said that they picked that color because they wanted to signs to stand out from the crowd. However, a lady jumped on them for not being patriotic.

When did the color of a yard sign become the symbol of a candidate’s patriotism? I would think that these people are patriotic no matter what color they use. Heck, we have known most of them all of our lives, and I do not think there has ever been a breakout of Communism in these parts.

Seriously, does someone running for county commission or county judge really need to advertise their patriotism. They are not going to be making decisions about national security. Of course, this leads me to something else.

In recent years, candidates have gotten into the habit of wearing lapel pins that look like the American flag.Lapel Pin

Obviously, this is to prove their patriotism, but when did we measure loyalty to the country through a cheap accessory. These days, if a candidate is seen without a flag-shaped lapel pin, then they are considered to be unfit for office.

I do not care what color people make their yard signs and what they choose to wear on their jackets. I just want them to be able to do their jobs. Too many politicians are scared to make a decision because it might cost them some votes. Actually, being indecisive is what irks people. I think back to John Wayne in Chisum.John Wayne

He is asked about the territorial governor and replies that the governor is a “gutless wonder.”

I do not care about signs and lapel pins. I care about politicians with guts.

People who run for office can operate their campaign anyway they want. However, if I ever run for anything I am using colors that stand out. I do not have to prove my patriotism that way.

9 Responses to “Signs of Patriotism?”

  1. Marilyn Armstrong June 11, 2014 at 01:00 #

    All valid questions. If we make it more and more difficult to run for public office on issues and experience — and the likelihood that the candidate can effectively do the job — the candidates will be worse and worse. I know a lot of people who’ve said HELL NO to offers of candidacy. Garry said I could just shoot him now and be done with it. I took that as a “no.”

    • Rick June 11, 2014 at 02:17 #

      That’s true. I know several people who would be good candidates who don’t want to put up with the trouble. I also hate that candidates have to check all the boxes to be accepted by the party. Why can’t I be pro-business and believe in evolution, too?

      • Marilyn Armstrong June 11, 2014 at 02:32 #

        More good questions. Garry was offered a seat on the town council (we don’t have a mayor). He said they be in the driveway throwing stones through the windows. We have a pretty contentious little town … but that’s also why nothing ever gets better. No one wants to deal with all that ugliness. It’s worst in small towns where everyone knows everyone else.

  2. Marilyn Armstrong June 11, 2014 at 01:00 #

  3. DyingNote June 11, 2014 at 02:59 #

    I think most people confuse jingoism with patriotism.

    • Rick June 11, 2014 at 03:03 #

      That’s probably true.

  4. Andrew Petcher June 11, 2014 at 04:22 #

    In the UK the Liberal-Democrat party has the colour yellow. I wonder what John Wayne would have thought about that?

    • Rick June 11, 2014 at 14:04 #

      He would have probably found that fitting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Yard Dog Award – Stealing Signs | Surrounded By Imbeciles - June 21, 2014

    […] some point in the past, I wrote about my issues with politicians and the designs of their yard signs. This time, I take issue with people who steal those yard […]

Leave a Reply

