The Little River Band Sang…

1 Nov

Happy Anniversary, Baby“, and I have been thinking about that song because it has been one year since the birthing of this blog. It started with the suggestion of a therapist who I don’t see anymore and, honestly, I thought it was a dumb idea. I knew nothing about blogging and didn’t understand why anyone would want to read what I had to write. For the first month, that proved accurate as the blog got 49 hits FOR THE ENTIRE MONTH.

Several times, I thought about stopping but realized that was the point behind the therapist’s suggestion. I have had a hard time committing, and this would give me practice at continuing something. It’s a year later, and I am still continuing. That fact has amazed me along with a few other things.

I am amazed that this blog has 252 followers, and I deeply appreciate each one of you. Also, I would be remiss if I didn’t thank all of the other readers who have stopped by along the way. I appreciate that you guys have taken the time to read my words and offer hundreds of comments. There are some great people in the blog world, and I am happy to have come into contact with a bunch of them.

I am amazed that people from 91 countries have clicked on one of my posts. ZZ Top went nationwide, and Surrounded by Imbeciles has gone worldwide.

Beard, Beard and a guy named Beard.

Wait, that last sentence brings something to mind that I would like to address, the title of the blog. Several people have told me how much they like the title, and others have told me that, with the content to the blog, I should change it. I find value in each one of those opinions.

The explanation for the title is given in the very first post. I didn’t realize that there was an About page for introductory purposes and wrote post for introductory purposes. That, along with the fact that I didn’t know what a Tag was, shows you how big of a blogging imbecile I was. Anyway, I am getting off track.

That post explains where the title comes from and explains my vision for what Surrounded by Imbeciles would be about – a sarcastic look at the human condition. Unfortunately (or fortunately), I haven’t been able to keep the sarcasm flowing. Now, I still throw sarcasm out there, but it is surrounded by all sorts of other views of the world.

In short (too late, I know), I am not surrounded by imbeciles. I am surrounded by great people with a few imbeciles thrown in. Because I actually know a few imbeciles, I am going to keep the name of the blog. Besides, it’s a brand. I don’t see Coke changing anything. Wait, they tried that once didn’t they?

Uh, ok.

I conclude this anniversary post by shamelessly linking the eight less read entries of Surrounded by Imbeciles.

THE BOTTOM TEN

Last – Never heard of Peter Burnett? Well, now you have.

Almost Last – Some important events have happened on November 25.

Nearly Last – Read ’em and weep.

Almost Last But Not Quite – Steve Jobs sold crack.

In The Last Five – The dreaded Winter Solstice.

Hey, It’s Not In The Last Five – The brain says, “Hey, give me a break.”

Not Nearly Last – What is true immortality?

A Safe Distance From Last – An ode to a cactus.

Again, thanks to everyone who has read this blog. I truly appreciate it.

18 Responses to “The Little River Band Sang…”

  1. DyingNote November 1, 2012 at 05:42 #

    Happy Anniversary! I hope there are many more to come. It looks like you enjoy this and so hopefully you’ll stick to it. But if you need a little push, let me say this – you write very well and I thoroughly enjoy my trips to your blog (I got back to WordPress just a few days back after a long gap and yours was one of the first blogs that I returned to).

    The blog name – ah, well that’s a choice one makes and then tries to make the most of it. DyingNote is not exactly the most fortunate title and it has required explanation in a separate ‘About’ page. But I wouldn’t change it. But I’m just curious – if you would change the name of your blog, what would it be?

    • Rick November 1, 2012 at 13:56 #

      I wondered where you disappeared to. Thank you for the kind words. I will definitely keep on writing. When I started the blog, that was the first name that popped into my mind. Honestly, I haven’t thought of another name that I would be willing to put on it.

      • DyingNote November 1, 2012 at 16:14 #

        New venture with a friend designing t-shirts – the first time I’ve started something up – kept me away for a while. It’s been fun so far and fun’s infectious. So I’ve got back to music, writing, running, cycling

  2. Butterfly Joy November 1, 2012 at 06:15 #

    Yay, happy anniversary!

    • Rick November 1, 2012 at 13:56 #

      Thank you. It’s been a fun ride so far.

  3. paintlater November 1, 2012 at 11:41 #

    Happy anniversary. Keep on tapping. Cheers Sue

    • Rick November 1, 2012 at 13:57 #

      Thanks. I will continue to tap away.

  4. John November 1, 2012 at 13:26 #

    Happy Blogiversary!

    • Rick November 1, 2012 at 13:59 #

      Thanks a lot. I didn’t realize that I was filled with so many words.

  5. javaj240 November 1, 2012 at 13:32 #

    Happy Anniversary!

    Remember, commitment has both negative and positive connotations, LOL!

    • Rick November 1, 2012 at 14:00 #

      Ha. No kidding. I am committed to keeping it positive. I hope.

  6. sj November 1, 2012 at 14:54 #

    Yay! Mine is in 12 days. I have no idea yet what I’m doing and I wish I’d started a second blog instead of agreeing to do NaNoWriMo. >.<

    • sj November 1, 2012 at 14:55 #

      Grrrr, embedding videos isn’t working for me lately. [sigh]

    • Rick November 1, 2012 at 15:40 #

      Congratulations on your upcoming anniversary.

  7. virtuallynomadic November 1, 2012 at 16:40 #

    Happy anniversary! I enjoy following your blog.

    • Rick November 1, 2012 at 16:59 #

      Thank you very much. Your travel photos are awesome.

  8. John S November 3, 2012 at 01:05 #

    Congrats on the year and keep blogging!

    • Rick November 3, 2012 at 21:10 #

      Thank you. I plan to keep on typing.

Leave a Reply

