A Chiropractor, an Insurance Agent, and a Private Eye Walk into a Bar…

7 Jun

Actually, they were sitting at my Rotary table. I have written previously about the deep, dark secrets of Rotary meetings and have returned to this topic because I found this week’s grouping kind of interesting. Like most civic organizations, Rotary is designed to bring together people from different walks of life. At times, it succeeds in that endeavor, and this week provided a good example of that.

Sitting around the table were:

“The Body Shop Owner” – A long time business owner in the community, he fancies himself an amateur historian. He is a nice guy and a friend of my family, but when you talk about history for a living you don’t always want to talk about it in during leisure time. With that being said, there is a bright side to wrecking your car in my town. It gives you an excuse to go to his shop and look at his vast collection of historic photographs.

“The Convenience Store Owner” – This one is a huge hockey fan and follows the Nashville Predators religiously. However, the season came to an abrupt end, so I asked him about business. His store sits close to campus, and I asked if he sees reduced sales during the summer, when most students are away.

“Absolutely! Beer sales drop off, but dip sales are the worst. Baseball players buy a lot of dip from me. You’d be surprised how many softball players (which are women) buy dip from me, too.”

“The Private Eye” – This one is an interesting character because he tells tales of following wayward spouses and sitting at stakeouts for hours on end. I asked if he drove a red Ferrari back then, and he admitted that he had a silver Corvette. Of course, those were the old days when being a detective meant a lot of legwork. Guess where he does most of his work now. Yep, on Facebook.

“The Retired Cook” – This lady used to run the kitchen at the country club where our meetings are held. I have heard that the meals were great back then. By far, she is the most respectable person at my table and is filled with stories of humor and wisdom. I always ask her questions about her time at the club and her best dishes. People say that her fried chicken is the best around.

“The Chiropractor” – Honestly, there is not much to write because he never says much. He just looks around the table and studies us. Maybe, he thinks we are all crooked. Get it. Crooked. Chiropractor. Well, you get the point.

“The Insurance Agent” – He seems like a nice guy, but I am not sure about insurance agents. I was always told that if you can’t do anything else then sell insurance. Anyway, he kept complaining about business. A few weeks ago we had a hail storm and people are getting work done on their roofs. He was going on and on about how people needed to get their roofs fixed and waited until after the hail storm to do it. Well, hell…I mean hail. Who’s not going to do that? I’m doing it.

Then, there was me – taking it all in and thinking about a blog post.

8 Responses to “A Chiropractor, an Insurance Agent, and a Private Eye Walk into a Bar…”

  1. becomingcliche June 7, 2012 at 19:44 #

    I’m always convinced that plastic surgeons are like the chiropractor, observing everyone and thinking “I could fix that.”

    • surroundedbyimbeciles June 7, 2012 at 19:56 #

      I don’t know any plastic surgeons, but I know plenty of people who have been “fixed” by them.

  2. sj June 7, 2012 at 20:22 #

    You need to convince her to fry some chicken for you, then blog about it. I’m interested.

  3. John June 7, 2012 at 23:22 #

    Gotta be careful of “cook” stories, particularly before you eat.

    • surroundedbyimbeciles June 8, 2012 at 05:22 #

      No joke. I especially don’t want to hear abour fava beans and a nice chianti.

Leave a Reply

